Halloween Candy: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

28 Oct

With Halloween only a few days away, I thought it’d be fun to rank the candies and treats that I really loved getting in my pumpkin shaped candy bucket (yup, you know the one I’m talking about!). In no particular order:

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
That’s right CUPS. None of this “Reese’s Pieces” nonsense. If you’re going to get anything in full size form, then it’s gotta be the peanut butter cup. Sweet, silky peanut butter covered all over in chocolate- how can you be satisfied with only a one-bite version of that? Answer: you can’t.

Crunch Bar- Fun Size version
So, if you have to make due with the fun size version of anything, I say go for the Crunch Bar. To me, it’s the holy grail of fun size chocolate bars. No need for a caramel centre or melting bubbles. Simple, crunchy and oh so chocolate-y, to me, the Crunch Bar is all killer and no filler.

Rockets (aka Smarties)
I’ve always been obsessed with these little circles of compressed sugary goodness. Even as a big kid, if you put a pack of Rockets anywhere within 30 feet of me, I’ll hunt it down and happily devour each and every one. Seriously, how can you not love a candy where even the gross looking yellow and green ones tasted great?

Nerds
Hmm…I think I have an addiction to small clusters of sugary goodness. Whenever I’d get a box of Nerds, big or small, I’d pretty much inhale them. I think this is how I developed my ability to down a stack of pancakes, scrambled eggs and a glass of milk in 5 minutes before bolting out the door for work.

BBQ Chips
This is the unicorn of Halloween candy because: 1) It’s not a candy at all and 2) Only 1 in every 1000 homes will offer this to us cute lil trick or treaters. I remember going years before landing a bag of chips again. God bless the parents that head to Costco and forgo boxes of candy for some mini bags of BBQ chips. We need more of you out there in the world!

So, that’s my list. But why stop with just the good side of Halloween candy? We’ve all heard the horror stories of candy that tasted nasty/looked weird/just wasn’t right. Here are a few of the things that I wished never landed in my pumpkin:

Mints
I remember getting a lot of these growing up in the Philippines. Sometimes it’d be Halls and sometimes it’d be mints filled with chocolate (probably to disguise the fact that it doesn’t count as candy AT ALL). Is it just me or does getting mints for Halloween feel the same as getting a woolly socks for Christmas?

Coffee Crisp
This was something I never personally got, but my nephew did when we went trick or treating last year. I know it comes in the fun size pack alongside the Kit Kats, but I think mixing coffee with chocolate and children is just never a good idea.

Tootsie Roll
I can’t really say much more than that these never tasted good to me…and they never will. I do like what cute baby costumes the wrappers make though.

Black Licorice
Like the Tootsie Roll, black licorice just doesn’t do it for me. Unlike the Tootsie Roll, licorice attacks in many forms- I can’t tell you how many times I’ve mistaken an innocent looking black jelly bean for something that could actually taste sweet for one thing…

Floss
This was an interesting surprise back in ’98. I’d heard of kids getting toothbrushes before, but floss really threw me off. I give these guys props for at least making it bubblegum flavoured though.

Happy Halloween everyone!

I’d love to hear from you- what’s on your list of the good, the bad and the ugly of Halloween candy?

4 Responses to “Halloween Candy: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly”

  1. Angela October 28, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    karra,
    i totally agree with you, crunch, coffee crisp and floss — oh my!
    this post makes me want to go trick or treating this year 🙂

    • KayBee November 2, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

      haha did you get floss in your pumpkin too? Hope you ended up going trick or treating!

  2. Mandy October 28, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    What about those mini packages of Fuzzy Peaches, Sour Skittles! VERY GOOD 🙂 Mini Twix, Mars Bars also very good.

    I think the bad ones for me would be those squishy asian ones that I just don’t want to dare try.

    I admit, I’m a brand whore when it comes to candy.

    • KayBee November 2, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

      I’ve always been a Cherry Blaster fan haha I’m digging your list too. I’m harsh getting a sweet tooth lol

Leave a Reply

