Eclair Cupcake Recipe

26 Oct

I’m obsessed with sweets, especially cupcakes. Especially cupcakes covered in frosting and possibly sprinkles. In my quest to discover the perfect cupcake, I decided to try out a new combination: eclair cupcakes.

An eclair is a French choux pastry filled with a creamy custard (usually vanilla flavored). It seemed like a great idea to mix an eclair with a cupcake, and luckily I found a recipe online that fit exactly what I was trying to do.

I made my cupcakes for a Canada Day BBQ I was going to. I ran out of big cupcake baking cups, so I had to try out the recipe in mini version. I don’t recommend this unless you have some kind of coring tool. I found it was hard to get the right amount of cream into the mini cupcakes using just my kitchen syringe (or whatever it’s called) and a butter knife. I couldn’t get the custard in properly and the mini cupcakes almost exploded on me a few times lol

Recipe adapted from Sugar and Salt. Recipe for custard filling taken from my mama.

Vanilla Bean Custard Filling

*I recommend making this the night before so it has time to cool. Also, the flavors are always much better after having time to rest together.

2tbsp butter
1/4c cornstarch
1/2c sugar
2c milk
3 beaten egg yolks
1tsp vanilla

Vanilla bean cream before and after adding egg yolks

  • In a saucepan, over medium heat, melt butter and blend in cornstarch and sugar
  • Gradually add in milk and bring to a boil
  • Remove from heat and add vanilla beans
  • Add hot milk mixture to beaten eggs to temper, then add beaten eggs into milk
  • Return to medium heat for 2 mins, stirring constantly
  • Remove from heat and add let cool for 2 hrs or overnight

Cupcakes

1c flour
1 tbs cornstarch
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2c milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp almond extract
4 oz butter
3/4c sugar
2 eggs, separated
pinch of cream of tartar (I didn’t have this, so left it out of my version)
2 tbs sugar

Before and after baking

  • preheat oven to 350F, line your pan
  • sift together flour, cornstarch, baking powder & salt
  • in separate bowl combine the milk, vanilla and almond
  • in a separate bowl, beat the egg whites and cream of tartar until soft peaks form. add the 2tbs sugar and beat until shiny and stiff peaks form.
  • in separate bowl cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy
  • add the egg yolks only, one at a time
  • add 1/3 of the flour mixture, beat to combine.
  • add 1/2 of the milk mixture, beat to combine
  • repeat until all of the milk and flour are added, ending on the flour
  • gently fold in the whipped egg whites.
  • spoon into prepared pan, cook for 20 minutes until toothpick is clean. Use baking cups to make taking them out easier

Chocolate Glaze

1/2c heavy cream
4 oz semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • heat cream until you can see bubbles forming at the edge
  • take off heat and add the chocolate, let sit for a minute then stir to smooth
Putting it all together
As I mentioned, an apple corer (small one) would work best for this type of operation. Since I didn’t have one, I did my best with my little kitchen syringe.
If you use a corer: let your cupcakes cool then use the corer to make a hole in the center that you can fill with custard. Save a piece of the cupcake core that you can use to cover the hole.
If you use a syringe like me: I used a knife to carefully make a hole down the center of the cupcake. I cut into the center, wiggled it around and tried to scoop out bits of cake. This should be much easier to do with a big cupcake, but it was pretty hard with my mini ones.
  • Once you have made a hole, use the syringe to fill the center to the top with custard. Cover it with a piece of leftover cupcake.
Finally, dunk the top in your chocolate glaze and allow to harden on a rack. Place the rack either on top of a piece of parchment paper or a baking pan to catch the drippings.
Since it was Canada Day, I dusted my cupcakes with red sprinkles.

With custard filling and all finished

And voila! You can now impress your friends with this great eclair cupcake creation. Since mine were smaller, I found that it was like eating a piece of candy. Bon appetit!

A look inside

Have you tried any unique cupcake combos before? I’d love to hear them! Share your experience or recipe below :)
One Response to “Eclair Cupcake Recipe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Six Neat Things » Lipofuze and other stuff - October 27, 2010

    […] Eclair cupcakes. Do I really need to say much more than that? Permalink […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

